Crocheting with Grandma Christine

A few weeks ago, my mom and I were going through a closet that is essentially contained hoarding. There’s a lot of junk and garbage plus, a few things that we may use again, but likely not. Then we came across a vintage plastic bag with a nearly completed crochet blanket inside that had been started by my Grandma Christine.

I was more or less a year old when my paternal grandma died. All I really know of her I’ve learned from pictures and stories. I also know that we share many features. In high school I remember my Grandpa saying how much I looked like her and how that made him miss her even more.

Since I have no memories of her of my own, finding this blanket was a gift. Looking at the blanket, the pattern was too complex to figure out without instructions. Luckily when I unfolded it, I saw that all it really needed was a border and some finishing touches. The bag also contained all the matching yarn I needed to complete the blanket.

It didn’t take long to single crochet a couple of simple rows all the way around for the border and I was thrilled to have been given the opportunity to work on a project with my Grandma Christine so long after she was gone. I was also incredibly happy to have helped finish such a lovely blanket to give to my dad from his mom.

Posted on May 23, 2012, in Crochet and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. That is just awesome. I love this story! 🙂

Leave a Reply

